I want a hot shower so badly

So, my discovery about the shower and dishwasher was inaccurate. In fact, we had not paid our gas bill, and our natural gas was shut off.

I didn’t even know we had a gas bill.

I know, I know. How could I not know? Well, our last apartment was all-electric. And my apartments before that had utilities included in the rent. So I’ve never had a gas bill, and I completely overlooked the necessity of changing that particular service to our names. Plus, we bought our house from a property company, so the bills weren’t even coming here; they were going to the business instead. The gas company said the sellers should have provided us with a list of what utilities we needed to switch over, but I don’t really fault them for not doing that. We figured out the water and electric accounts on our own.

Anyway. At this point, we’re coming up on two weeks of cold showers and heating water on the stove to do dishes. It’s been a whole ordeal of calling the gas company, calling a contractor to seal up a gap between the pipe and the wall, calling the chimney repairman to reline the flue (don’t ask me what that has to do with hot water).

J has been boiling water for baths. I, on the other hand, hate baths am taking a cold shower every morning. It’s sort of like getting into a swimming pool – once you get over the initial shock, it feels OK. And while it’s less than enjoyable, it has been great for my hair and skin, which I can’t complain about.

Here’s the really tough part, though: The repairman told us we could turn the hot water heater back on. He is coming Friday to fix the pipe properly, and he said things should be fine until then. After all, it’s been this way for months now, and we only just bought a carbon monoxide detector a week ago.

But J says no. He wants to wait until things are really and truly fixed. Don’t ask me why I’m not fighting him more on this. Maybe it’s the good hair days.

Leave a Reply

