Chip It! Inspiration

So, Kate over at The Small Things Blog posted about a contest from Sherwin Williams. Basically, if you blog, tweet, or comment about what you’d do with the prize of a $200 Sherwin Williams gift card and a $1,000 Visa gift card, you’re entered.

Entering the contest is what sparked this post, but it really inspired me to go in a completely different direction with our master bathroom regardless of the contest results. I had expected to do it in all white … a color scheme that is fast becoming my default setting. I am mostly OK with that fact. I love white decor and I am not ashamed to admit it.

On the other hand, the master bathroom is the only room in the house I feel like I can be completely girly in. J does not use the master bathroom, even though it is the en suite he so desperately wanted. He doesn’t use it because he doesn’t fit in it.

Let me explain.

J is nearly 6’4″. This is not that unusual, except our house was built in the early 1930s, and it is my strong belief that the master bathroom used to be a closet. The ceiling slopes along with the roofline. The lowest part of the room is probably 3 feet high. It makes J feel claustrophobic.

Therefore, J uses the upstairs bathroom instead. (In fact, we both use that one right now, since I haven’t yet mustered the ingenuity or motivation to hang a shower curtain on a slanted wall. This only further emphasizes my need for an extremely girly bathroom of my own.)

Mark my words, eventually the master bathroom will be an explosion of color. There will be pink involved.

So. Here are my inspiration photos. Maybe help me narrow down which one I’ll use?

French toast:

source: Nathan Harris

How fun is this? It makes me think of waking up and walking to a sunny little diner where you can start your day with a delicious breakfast of pancakes or (of course) french toast and the waitstaff is friendly and you can read a book while you eat alone at the wobbly table and no one thinks you’re weird because you’re eating alone.

Shades of pink and melon:

Source: pretty underwear.tumblr.com, via thelingerieaddict

I can never resist pretty lingerie, and if I’m going for girly, what makes more sense than this? My only reservation is that it may be a little too pink. I want the bathroom to be feminine, but I don’t want it to feel like Valentine’s Day every day. Also, I can’t shake the memory of a house we looked at where the bathroom was PINK. Even down to the toilet paper. I don’t want that to be my bathroom.

Klimt:

source: vingti (blog no longer online), via adayinthelifeoftrivialthings.tumblr.com

Honestly, I’m not that crazy about the painting. I do love the palate, even though I have my reservations about the black. This might be varied enough to read as sort of bohemian.

So what do you think?

Leave a Reply

