sunday dinner: a monday post

I wanted to post this last night, but WordPress was being weird and not allowing me to add photos or links. Anyone know what was up?

Anyway, my parents came to our house for dinner last night. J was thrilled, because that meant he got to grill steaks. I haven’t eaten meat in a decade, so I’m not much good in the cooking or eating department when it comes to steak … or chicken, or pork, or fish. But I had plenty to do in the kitchen anyway. Here is our menu:

peaches and brie bruschetta (an easy and delicious appetizer I don’t make nearly enough) :: beer and butter marinated steak (J’s creation … I didn’t ask) :: white house salad (first time trying this recipe – definitely needs less olive oil) :: roasted red potatoes :: heirloom watermelon slices (from the parents’ garden)

J wanted to try out his new coffee grinder and the Blue Mountain coffee he found at TJ Maxx, so after a walk through the neighborhood we finished up with coffee and Milano cookies. Delicious.

The roasted red potatoes are something my mom makes all the time, and they’re so ridiculously easy and perfect with anything from the grill that I can’t help but make them, too.

Roasted Red Potatoes

You will need:

  • 1/2 lb. red potatoes
  • salt
  • pepper
  • olive oil
  • cookie sheet
  • paring knife
  • cutting board

1. Wash the potatoes and cut out any of their eyes.

2. Chop potatoes into bite-sized pieces.

3. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

4. Arrange potatoes on a cookie sheet. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste, as well as a bit of olive oil.

5. Roast potatoes in the oven for 20-30 minutes, turning once, until golden brown. Serve hot.

In retrospect, I might try 400 degrees for a shorter period of time, since I like mine a bit crispier. They went over well, though, because the bowl was empty at the end of the meal!

Oh, and a quick update on the coffee table: I did buy supplies, but the spray paint is the wrong color. That project might take a little longer that I expected.

Leave a Reply

